RSS

Update 6/7/2011

07 Jun

Bethany continues to make great strides in recovery.

Last night Bethany was given soft food and liquids through the mouth. Sandy fed her dinner and liquid (don’t know if it was water or juice). This is an amazingly huge step forward and we are very excited.

Beth is talking quite a bit, and even to the doctors and nurses. I was there when the doctor visited during the evening (can’t remember which evening) and he was asking me questions and Beth replied directly to him, which surprised and delighted him.

This morning I went in before work and massaged her hands and after I was done she asked if I could do her feet. Very cool. I’ve been talking with her on how important it is to really respond when the doctor or nurses are there. That the more she responds the quicker she’ll get out of the hospital. Hoping that will give her motivation to start moving that left leg. I held her left arm up above her head and it was resting on the pillow, and I asked her to pull her arm down. I could see her trying but she wasn’t able to…today, but wouldn’t surprise me if she’ll be able to do it tomorrow.

Beth’s white blood cell count is normal and her temp is normal. WOOHOO! 1st time her temp has been normal since she came in.

So many wonderful stories from everyone that’s staying with Beth (I’ve been working so I don’t spend much time with her), unfortunately, I can’t seem to remember all of them.

The one I do remember is from Cass. Our normal routine when we come in is to greet Beth and say who we are, which is what Cass did, and normally Beth doesn’t remember who we are. When Cassie left, she said I love you to Beth and I’ll see you later. She turned to leave and Beth said, “Bye Cacci”. Cass was stunned as that’s something Bethany called her when she was little. Amazing! Hopefully I’ll have more later.

Thank you all for continuing to pray for Bethany, it must be obvious to you as it is to us that God is doing an amazing work in her!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Update 6/7/2011

  1. Paul J. Mooter

    June 8, 2011 at 1:44 am

    So glad to hear that Bethany is doing great!! When You think She can understand let Her hear the tape I Made!!
    Love You All
    Dad

     
  2. Jerry Gray

    June 8, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    Praise Jesus! I love that she’s eating and really love that story about her recalling a nickname for Cassie. Thanks for maintaining this blog, I check it regularly. As always, keeping you all in prayer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
