RSS

Update 6/9/2011 – 6:58 am

09 Jun

I’m sitting with Beth who’s out like a light.  Sandy has left her laptop here playing “Heaven’s Embrace” all night long and it’s no wonder she’s out.  I listen to it just before I got to bed and it always makes me so peaceful.  Good stuff.

So, I don’t have any ‘data’ to report about Bethany other than she’s RAWKIN!  She’s doing to great!

I spent a fair about of time with her yesterday and we had good converstations and singing (see the previous post), but I’ve asked Rach, Cass and Sandy for input as what’s happening when they’re around.

Here’s something from Cass:

“Uh lets see…………….anything I can repeat?   She has been singing a lot of random songs.  We were listening to the radio and she sang along with Newsboy’s “Shine”, which we used to listen to when we were kids.  And when it was over she sang the jingle with gusto, “Postive LIfe RAdioooo!”.  When she got tired later tonight she just started singing numbers at random to a pretty tune, “1, 2, 3, 4, 5,……….9, 10, 11, 12…………”  When I sang her to sleep tonight with the songs Mom always used to sing us she sang along with me, and got really hooked on, “You Are My Hiding Place” and sang it over and over until I told her it was time to sleep and started rubbing her feet.  Mom was telling her about all the yummy things she has cooked and asked, “Do you know that you are a good cook?” and then I said “And did you know that I am a bad cook?” and we got a pretty genuine laugh out of her.  Also, I tried to sit on the rolling chair and fell right off of it onto the ground and that got a BIG belly laugh out of her!! 

This story isn’t exactly funny but it’s awesome, I was showing her the front page of a National Geographic and she said “The Mystery of Stonehenge” or something like that and I said, “huh?” but then I looked at the front and that was the title!!  Hallelujiah, she can still read!!!!!  
 
 
Seems she made me laugh a lot tonight, but I am having a hard time recalling most of it.  She seemed in good spirits and less agitated then I have seen her the past few days.  After the nurses turned her and got her comfy she had a pretty easy time of falling asleep.   She even brushed her own teeth and did a good job of it tonight.  It’s so cool to see her coming along so well.  She really enjoyed looking at the pictures in National Geographic and kept talking about how cute the animals were and that the magazine was very “informative”.  I just love this Bethany we have here so much!  Can’t wait for the day she remembers we are sisters!  Oh yes, one more story; I asked if I could give her a hug and she said yes, so I hugged her but it was lame so I said, “If I free your arm do you think you can hug me back?” and she said “sure” so I untied her left arm and she gave me a great hug and she said “Awwwww” and patted my back.  So sweet!”
 
Well, there you have it, thanks Cass, it made my posting job much easier!

The pictures are of gifts that Jeff Nesch (Ness) gave Bethany along with a very nice letter. 
Bethany has some of the most caring and loving friends I’ve ever met.  I will tell you more about what they’ve done in my next post….amazing, just amazing.  Thanks Jeff for the gifts and cool artwork on the envelope.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Update 6/9/2011 – 6:58 am

  1. Brenda Critell

    June 9, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    I am so blessed to hear this! God is so good. Bethany will remember you all very soon, in Jesus’ name. And for the record, Sandra, you are not a bad cook. 🙂 We have all had our flops (me included), but you have made some pretty amazing dishes when I was around.

    I love you all,
    Brenda

     
  2. anda west

    June 10, 2011 at 3:47 am

    Hey Paul and Sandy, thank you so very much for keeping us posted. The pictures of Bethany, her progress, what has made you laugh, things like reading, copying scribbles, and singing. I know you must feel so inadequate to the task of all this….but as I read I can see how God continues to use the gfts of Sandy and Paul:….your singing, your sense of humor, your tender hearts, joking around, wisdom of knowing when it is time to tke a break, when to speak up, and even your writing skills. Most of all, your love of God and of Bethany.

    RAy is in albuquerque at the moment…helping out with his mom. She too has to be able to do a certain amount of PT before she can go home. IT is so different when it is a young life like Bethany.

    The water is amazing Had to laugh at myself as we have a creek going through town that became a river recently. I was impressed w/it…that river there….whoa! did you see all kinds of stuff coming down in he water?

    it is bed time….just wanted to wrap my arms around you before heading off to bed. wanda

     
  3. pmooter

    June 10, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    Thanks Brenda, but it was Cassandra who quipped that she was a bad cook and Bethany laughed at her.
    Paul, I have to add something for today. Therapy’s were keeping Bethany busy this a.m. In the midst of it Barb, Annies Mom walked in. She was here the first day with tears and hugs for me, so concerned for Bethany. She’s come by a few times and Bethany was asleep. Today she walked in with flowers. When Bethany looked up into her face, her face lit up with recognition and joy and then she teared up and looked very emotional. That was a first! I told Barb that. That’s the first time I’ve seen that I said. Bethany looks pale today. I’m not the only one who noticed, her nurse said it too. I wonder if it’s just cuz they do so many therapy’s back to back and it wore her out. St Lukes Rehab called today and said they will probablly move Bethany over there next week. She’ll see how Bethany is progressing in therapy on Monday and decide. Also waiting on Medicade

     
  4. pmooter

    June 10, 2011 at 11:49 pm

    I seem to be signed in as pmooter….this is Sandra speaking!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
