RSS

Update 6/15/2011

16 Jun

Bethany continues to improve daily.

Yesterday she was moved from Sacred Heart hospital to St. Luke’s.  This was very tough on Beth and she was completely exhausted by the time she was moved in.  As soon as she was aloud to get into bed, she feel asleep instantly.

Yesterday was tough on Beth not only because of the move but because of some things that happened at the hospital that really upset her and she was sobbing by the time we got to her.  Both in at the 1st hospital and now St. Luke’s.

Today is better, reports Sandy.  She had a very nice visit with her and Beth was enjoying Sandy reading her scriptures and singing songs.

I called looking for my other daughter which I was told was in the room, but when the phone was answered it was Beth!  I was so surprised!

We had a nice chat.  I asked her how things went and how tough was the work and she said, “I didn’t go to work”.  So I asked if she had any physical therapy today, and she said no.  So I waited a beat and then asked if she had any therapy today, and she said, “Yes, I had physical therapy today.”  She went on to say that she did some stuff but it wasn’t that much.  I tried to get details but she wasn’t able to tell me what she had done.  But for the most part the conversation flowed pretty smoothly and I was VERY happy.  I told her I loved her and would see her tonight, and she said…And I Quote! “Love you too Dad, see you later”.  OH YEAH!  that made my heart sing!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh, as I was talking with her after work yesterday I mentioned to the nurse about a drawing that Beth had done and I was trying to remember the title of the drawing and said something like mullets and….then I couldn’t recall it.  From the bed Bethany said, “Short Skirt’s and Mullet’s”.  Here’s a picture:

She drew this a while ago and wrote a “‘Zine” about her travels.  The actual drawing is very detailed and she did a great job.  It’s no wonder she remembered it so easily.  However when I showed it to her she didn’t respond much, so I’m not sure if she recognized it or not.

Here’s another example of her drawing abilities.  This was a poster she drew to announce a Punk Rock Sewing Circle that was held in the local bar by her house called the Checker Board Tavern. It was a great turn out and I’m sure more than a few heads were turned when they walked in to see all these punk kids sewing.  Very interesting sense of humor. (You’ll have to look at the drawing closer to see what I mean)

One last picture shows Beth sleeping in her new bed.  Pretty cool.  Reminds me of the time she turned a piano bench up side down, put blankets over the legs that were sticking up and slept on a pillow underneath the blankets. She was pretty young back then.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “Update 6/15/2011

  1. steve warrington

    June 16, 2011 at 12:26 am

    Great update Paul,
    love the art work!
    praying continually
    love to you all

     
  2. Dana& Kathe Braden

    June 16, 2011 at 2:13 am

    Hi there. We are Dana and Kathe Braden, Jamey’s M&d. So glad to see Bethany’s progress. We haven’t met her yet but plan to at least by Aug. 27. Really like the updates, so keep them coming. We will continue for Bethany’s recovery. Dana&Kathe.

     
  3. Sandra Mooter

    June 16, 2011 at 6:18 am

    That IS a really cozy bed…like a blanket fort a kid would make. We all keep saying we want to crawl in it with her…she’s fine with that.

     
  4. nate

    June 16, 2011 at 9:48 am

    thank you so much for this update. I am planning on making copies of her zine and selling it on tour next week.

     
  5. Paul J. Mooter

    June 16, 2011 at 4:01 pm

    Glad to see She is impoving!! The bed, looks like Bunk Beds?? Tell Her Grandpa Loves Her and the OFFER STILL STANDS!! Love Ya,
    Hope You get this??
    Grandpa

     

Leave a Reply

 
