RSS

Update – 6/28/2011

28 Jun

Well today we have a meeting with all the therapist to learn how to take care of Beth when she gets home.  I will post here about what we learned.  

Update after the meeting:
Well, we met with 3 of her therapist and they all had glowing remarks about Bethany and how well she is doing.  We plied them with questions and they had great answers and resources for us.  We have another meeting with them on Thursday where they will do some teaching on how we are to work with Beth in all the different areas.  They then said that they will issue a two our “pass” in which we can take her home for a short visit.  We are excited and VERY nervous.  So much responsability!  So much to think about: Getting her into a car without bumping her head.  Getting her up all those stairs just to get into the house.  Then having her move around the house without bumping into all the ‘stuff’, all the while we have to be right there with her……so so nervous…and exciting. 

They mentioned that we’ll need to put a bar in the shower and probably a seat as she is still a little unstable when standing, but we still have a week or so and who knows what kind of progress she’ll make, but I’ll need to get that figured out on how to install it. 

It’s very interesting how God works.  So I was coming home today, on my way to see Beth and saw Rachael walking home.  She had just left Bethany’s and mentioned that our neighbor accross the street had just put up a bunch of railings for their Mom in her house and would love to help us install them in our house….Can  you say TIMING!! Wow.

So I said good by to Rach and drove over to Sacred Heart where earlier Rach and Cass had dropped off some home made cookies.  We wanted to say thank you to all the nurses who took such great care of Bethany while she was in ICU.  On the way into the hospital I almost bumped into Dr. Martz who performed the surgery to remove part of Beth’s skull.  I was on my way up to ICU to drop off a flyer I made with a picture of Bethany when she was in ICU and also a picture of her walking. (The one with the proud look on her face).  So I showed Dr. Martz and he was so pleased to see the extreme differences in the two pictures and to hear of all her progress.  I told him I am never clear about the protocol of shaking a doctor’s hand and asked if it would be okay, and he hardaly stretched out his hand and shook.  I tried to tell him how thankful we all were to him for all he did but the words just didn’t seem to be enough.  I hope my ernest look and solid hand shake was more clear than my words.  What timing.

So after sayng good by I finally made it to the ICU where I dropped off the flyer and asked that it be placed with the cookies in the break room so all the nurses would see and remember.  As I turned to leave I noticed the door to the nurses manager’s office was open and occupied, FINALLY!  I’ve made numerous attempts to stop by and tell her thanks but she was always out.  This time I turned back, picked up the flyer and walked in.  I introduced myself and told her about Beth and then told her all the nursing staff was great and there were three individuals who stood out to us.  Again words failed me but I think she understood how much Shanna, Amy and Candi meant to us.  How patient they were with our constant questions.  How compassionate they were.  How understanding and encouraging.  So many things.  And still I just don’t feel I conveyed how much these three meant to us.

She mentioned that we should fill out these ‘star forms’ we have and that they would be put into their internal newsletter.  I told her I wanted to do more and she said we could write up a letter and she would send it to the administrator of the hospital and then they would get recognized at a higher level.  Again, timing!

I’m so thankful to God for all the things that he has done.  From the fact that there was someone with Beth when the accident happened who was able to call 911 immediatley (Thanks Winston!), to the amazing (Such a weak word!  Spectacular!  Stupendous!!  MORE MORE! I NEED MORE WORDS!) care she received in the ICU,  to the guys at work who showed up to support Sandy & I and who started an account for donatons at work, to Jeff and Savannah (Beth’s neighbor and best friends) who have gathered tons of donations to help with the bills, and they continue to gather donations, to Jackie and Tom who started the Meal Chain so we had dinners delivered (and SOOO much more!), to Terry and Margo who gave us their emergency fund to get Rachael home from Hawaii, to Sandra’s Mom who gave money so that Cassie could fly home, to my Dad who sent money to help, to my wonderful kids who have dropped everything and came running to help, and to so so many people who have spent hours on their knees praying for Beth, asking God to do a miracle, (And He DID!) and to all the hundreds of other people who have been so thoughtful and kind, with words of encouragement, uplifiting emails and comments on the blog (you should go read them!), and donations from the blog, and then now in St. Luke’s how wonderful they’ve been with Beth, working her and getting her more and more ready to make the transistion to home.  So much.  And of course to Beth’s Mom who spends way too many hours at Beth’s side and then at home crying out to God to continue to heal Beth.

Thank you all.  Thank you Jesus.  Thank you thank you thank you.  God. Is. Good!

(Now back to the orginal post)

But in the mean time Sandy posted something on Facebook that just needs to be shared…so funny.  So here it is:

helmet nazi

by Sandra Mooter on Tuesday, June 28, 2011 at 11:25am

I told Bethany we are having a meeting today to discuss her coming home since she’s doing soooo good! She thot for a moment and said, ‘I think we need to discuss how everyone is going to wait on me hand and foot when I get home. Hand and Foot! Not a hand or a foot left out….I was laughing pretty heartily as she expounded on her demands. Then she took her helmet off and the nurse/helmet nazi came in. Bethany knew she had to put the helmet back on…as she did she said to the nurse, ‘Yer a bratt.’ Nurse said, ‘thank you, I try’ Bethany liked that reply very much.

They really are amazed at how FAST Bethany is progressing. Steady progress, daily! We ran into one of the gals in the hall way that we will be meeting with today. She said, Beth is doing so well that the date of discharge is still set for July 8. That will be a total of 3 weeks  here. And I believe it was 3 weeks in the first hospital. After hearing other survivors stories recently…some took years to get not as far as Bethany is now. Some in coma for 3 months. In a diaper with feeding tube years into it. Year or two in nursing homes…on and on the sad, sad stories go. I have to stand back in awe…amazed at what our great and good God has done….double, triple, quadruple time!!! Can I get an AMEN?!!! Glory!

The improvements I speak of are not just physical, but in the area of memory and understanding being restored also. Her brain is working it’s butt off (as she so aptly put it) picking up the pieces of the giant puzzle that got thrown to the ground in the accident…pouring over each piece and setting aside some until a later date when it is more clear where they belong…but getting many pieces into place at record speed.

She is back and is anxious to get on the pc.““`”

So funny!  Will post more later.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “Update – 6/28/2011

  1. Janet Mitchell

    June 28, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    Amen! Love the updates…so very happy to hear that Bethany is healing so quickly. God is good.

     
  2. Sue Hille

    June 28, 2011 at 10:26 pm

    My AMEN joins yours as we praise our merciful God for the amazing healing taking place in and with Bethany.

     
  3. Kathie Whitesel

    June 29, 2011 at 12:34 am

    You just have to believe that all the prayers, probably some from people she and/or you guys don’t even know, have been constantly rising to the Throne and God is hearing and answering. Love you guys! I read your posts whenever they come up and continue to pray for miracles.

     
  4. Amanda Johnson

    June 29, 2011 at 6:53 am

    Great update, brought tears to my eyes!! Its hard to believe that Beth’s accident was only weeks ago, and that she has improved so much! It truly is a miracle! I’ve been telling people about Bethany and the rest of the awesome Mooter family, and everyone has been willing to lend their prayers. And here is proof that prayer is a powerful thing! I’m so excited that she’ll be able to return home soon, which I’m sure will aid in her recovery immensely. Please keep the updates coming!

     
  5. Paul J. Mooter

    June 29, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    My offer still stands, after July the 8th does She have to go back as an outpatient??
    Love You,
    Grandpa Mooter

     
  6. Jerry Gray

    July 1, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Thanks so much for the updates, Sandy and Paul. It’s almost unbelievable to think that you are planning for Beth’s homecoming–until you stop to ponder that it’s God that has made it possible.

     
  7. Janette M. Catania

    July 1, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    So happy to hear that Bethany is doing so well and a BIG AMEN to add. Love the updates and prayers are still coming in and will not stop. Love you all

     
  8. Angie Carlisle

    July 6, 2011 at 8:43 am

    Paul, Daniel and I would still like to come by and meet with your family if you would like us too. Give me a call or just email me to let me know what you would like us to do. Glad to see so many positive things going on with Beth. God is so good!

    Take care,
    Angie

     
    • pmooter

      July 11, 2011 at 9:57 pm

      Angie, sounds good. Beth is coming home this Wednesday so once she gets settled in, perhaps that might be a good time. Although at this time she doesn’t understand that she has a head injury. So might need a little more time. Thank you for the kind offer and I do want Beth to meet Daniel. Thanks.

       

Leave a Reply

 
